The Coalition to Diversify Computing (CDC) is a joint organization of the Association of Computing Machinery (ACM), the Computing Research Association (CRA), and the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineering Computer Society. The CDC?s mission is to aid in building a diverse community of computer researchers and professionals.

Currently, the CDC is focused on increasing the number of underrepresented minorities in graduate programs in computer science, computer engineering, and computational science programs. CDC?s projects are focused on three main areas:

  • Recruitment of minority undergraduates into MS/Ph.D. programs

  • Retention of minority graduate students enrolled in MS/Ph.D. programs

  • Transition of minority MS/Ph.D. graduates into academia and industry

On going CDC projects include:

  • CDC Database of minority researchers, faculty, and graduate and undergraduate students in computing. Contact Valerie Taylor at taylor@ece.northwestern.edu for more details.

  • Sending students to conferences program. Applications are now being accepted for conference support for underrepresented minorities to attend technical conferences. For further information, e-mail Patricia Teller at pteller@cs.utep.edu or visit the CDC Outreach site for specific details.

  • Traveling graduate school forum. Contact Andrea Lawrence at Lawrence@spelman.edu.

  • The Richard Tapia Celebration of Diversity in Computing Conference. Contact Juan Meza at JCMeza@lbl.gov or Bryant York at york@cs.pdx.edu.

  • Distributed rap sessions. Contact Allison Clark at aclark@ncsa.uiuc.edu or Phoebe Lenear at p-lenear@ncsa.uiuc.edu.

  • Distinguished lecturer series. Contact John Hurley at jhurley@cau.edu.

Currently, the CDC projects are sponsored by the National Science Foundation?s Education, Outreach and Training Parternships for Advanced Computational Infrastructure program, as well as the CRA and the ACM. For further information about the Coalition to Diversify Computing, please visit the CDC Web site. For general information, e-mail the CDC Co-Chairs, Valerie Taylor (at taylor@ece.northwestern.edu) and Richard Alo (at ralo@uhd.edu).